Northwoods Lodging was established in 1955 and was then known as The Honeymoon Inn. Don and Mary McLaren purchased the Inn in 1976, fulfilling a lifelong dream. Upon their purchase their son Jim built an addition which included 7 rooms, a living quarters and an outdoor pool. Mary and Don moved in and made the Honeymoon Inn the center of their world with Mary charming customers in the front and Don maintaining the grounds and the 10 acre driving range they had added. They remained at the motel until 2000 at which time, due to health issues, they passed their pride and joy onto their son Jim, and his wife, Connie. Don and Mary's passion became Jim and Connie's passion and over the next couple years Jim and Connie completely remodeled all the rooms and brought a new beginning to the motel and along with a new beginning, a new name.
Since that time Northwoods Lodging is constantly evolving to fit the needs of our cherished guests, many of whom have been part of the growth. The most recent changes include a delicious continental breakfast in season (July and August), wireless internet, a carpeted expanded deck area around the pool, a grill and picnic area for guests. In addition while guests can no longer hit golf balls, the driving range has become a beautiful wildlife refuge where you can regularly spot ducks, geese and deer.
Jim and Connie's love for the motel has been combined with their love for nature. They have taken many steps to be environmentally friendly, leading to their recent recognition and certification from the Michigan Department of Energy, Labor and Economic Growth as Green Lodging Michigan Stewards.